Spider.com Sells? Then Hit With Invalid Whois


Spider.com which was owned by Artesyn Technologies, Inc. has moved into Sedo escrow according to whois records. The domain name was registered at CSC Corporate Domains and transferred to Network Solutions on our about June 5, 2018 based on whois data.

Since whois is pretty much a blank canvas now, interestingly, upon transferring into Network Solutions, the domain name was placed on Ztomy.com name servers. These name servers are mainly used by Network Solutions and its subsidiary New Ventures Services Corp.

Visiting the domain name, displays a message on top of the page that states: “If you are the owner of this domain name, click here to verify”.

Spider.com Invalid Whois

This leads to a Domain Verification Required page and states:

All domain registrars are now required by ICANN (the regulating body for domain registrations) to ensure all domain owners verify their contact information for all new domain registrations and changes to existing contact information. This domain has been directed to this page because we did not receive the required validation response from the domain owner.
To complete verification, click on the link contained within the Network Solutions email that was sent to the customer email address on file. If you do not have this email, please click on the Resend Verification Email link below to resend the email.

The above is essentially an invalid whois suspension, potentially from a complaint form filed at ICANN (but likely just done internally at NSI, IMO due to the timing of the suspension). The bottom line, the domain name can be lost due to this if it’s not corrected. Bill Hartzer did an interview with NSI about Invalid Whois domains being suspended in December 2010 and that can be viewed here.

Spider.com Whois

If Sedo did sell the domain name, as it appears that is likely the case here, this needs to addressed promptly. How the domain can be hit with an invalid whois upon incoming transfer is the head shaker to me. In the mean time, Network Solutions will collect ad revenue displayed on the domain name and potentially a nice generic domain name that somebody may have paid six figures for.

Update: there is now an image of spider resolving, so the invalid whois issue appears to have been fixed.

Related Posts